March 22, 2023

Various Artists - The Waterboy (Original Soundtrack) (1998)

Country: U.S.A. 
Genre: Rock, Funk, Alternative Rock, Hard Rock
Label Number: HR-62157-2
© 1998 Hollywood Records
The soundtrack for the Adam Sandler football comedy The Waterboy is a mixture of classic rock hits from yesteryear and alternative rock from the late '90s. The '60s are represented by the funky Doors track "Peace Frog" and the Creedence Clearwater Revival nugget "Born on the Bayou," the latter fitting the movie's setting in the swampland of Louisiana. Earth, Wind & Fire's "Let's Groove" is a forgotten disco hit from the '70s and a soundtrack highlight, while Rush's "Tom Sawyer" makes its second appearance on a 1998 soundtrack (a remixed version appeared on Small Soldiers). Other familiar tunes include included is Joe Walsh's faux-reggae "New Year's Eve," John Mellencamp's 1985 hit "Small Town," and the 1991 Lenny Kravitz/Slash collaboration "Always on the Run." '90s alternative gets its turn in the spotlight with "More Today Than Yesterday" by Goldfinger, "Feed It" by the Candyskins, and "Glowing Soul" by Candlebox. Also included is a surprisingly authentic remake of the John Lee Hooker blues classic "Boom Boom" by Big Head Todd & the Monsters. The Waterboy motion picture soundtrack proves to be an interesting and broad selection of songs.

 tags: various artists, the waterboy, original soundtrack, 1998, flac,


Post a Comment

Comments as "Anonymous" have been restored. Please keep the comments civilized. We do not accept requests.