April 15, 2024

Various Artists - The Princess Diaries: Original Soundtrack (2001)

Country: U.S.A.
Genre: Pop, Pop Rock
Label Number: 0927-43082-2

© 2001 Walt Disney Records
The original soundtrack to Gary Marshall's teen makeover fantasy The Princess Diaries features teen pop galore from the likes of Krystal Harris, Youngstown, and B*Witched. While most of the album consists of slick, virtually interchangeable singles like Myra's "Miracles Happen" and Steps' "Happy Go Lucky," a few tracks, for better or worse, are particularly distinctive. Aaron Carter and Mandy Moore tackle "Little Bitty Pretty One" and "Stupid Cupid," respectively, in misguided attempts to update the songs. However, the cold productions and clunky rhythms on both covers make them almost unlistenable. Fortunately, Melissa Lefton's "I Love Life," BBMak's "Miss You More," and 3Gs' "Crush" suggest that there's some hope for teen pop's future; the genre's most venerable acts, Hanson and the Backstreet Boys, each turn in decent if unremarkable tracks in "Wake Up" and "What Makes You Different (Makes You Beautiful)"-- a philosophy that both The Princess Diaries and its soundtrack could have used more of.

 tags: various artists, the princess diaries, original soundtrack, ost, 2001, flac,


Post a Comment

Comments as "Anonymous" have been restored. Please keep the comments civilized. We do not accept requests.