April 30, 2019

Modest Mouse - The Moon & Antarctica (2000)

Country: U.S.A.
Genre: Indie Rock
.FLAC via Mega (Link)
.AAC 256 kbps via Mega (Link)

© 2000 Epic Records
AllMusic Review by Heather Phares
Modest Mouse's Epic debut, The Moon & Antarctica, finds them strangely subdued, focusing on mortality as well as the moody, acoustic side of their music and downplaying the edgy rock that helped make them indie stars. Not that their first major-label release sounds like a sellout -- actually, the slight sheen of Brian Deck's production enhances the album's introspective tone -- but occasionally The Moon & Antarctica's melancholy becomes ponderous. Unfortunately, the album's middle stretch contains three such songs, "The Cold Part," "Alone Down There," and "The Stars Are Projectors," which tend to blur together into one 17-minute-long piece that bogs down the album's momentum. Individually, each of these songs is sweeping and haunting in its own right, but grouping them together blunts their impact. However, this trilogy does provide a sharp contrast to, as well as a bridge across, The Moon & Antarctica's more vibrant beginning and end. Though it explores death and the afterlife, The Moon & Antarctica's liveliest moments are its most effective. "3rd Planet"'s simple, ramshackle melody and strange, moving lyrics ("Your heart felt good"), the elastic guitars on "Gravity Rides Everything," and the angular, jumpy "Tiny Cities Made of Ashes" and "A Different City" get the album off to a strong start, while the fresh, unaffected "Wild Packs of Family Dogs," "Paper Thin Walls," and "Lives" bring it to an atmospheric, affecting peak before "What People Are Made Of" closes the album with a climactic burst of noise. Their most cohesive collection of songs to date, The Moon & Antarctica is an impressive, if flawed, map of Modest Mouse's ambitions and fears.

tags: modest mouse, the moon and antartica, 2000, flac,


  1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

    1. Original comment(s): "The link is dead. Can you upload please?" x3

      - Denied!: This user has now been banned from commenting for 10 days.

      - Reason(s): failure to comply with the guidelines of this site, commented more than once about the same subject: 3x, complete failure to specify which links were down in a 2 link post: 5x, repeated the previous offense 4 more times.

      - User was originally banned here:


      "Hi. You're an idiot and here's why."

      - This publication contains 2 different links and you've failed to specify which of the 2 is "dead"

      . "Don't believe me?"

      - Your words: The "link" is dead. Can you "upload" please?

      - link = singular meaning 1 not 2, 3 or even 4.

      - upload = "upload" what? FLAC, AAC? Both?

      - You continued to commit this error 4 more times, 3 of which were in the same exact post.

      - Other offenses:



      >>> Visitor lacks common sense.

      >>> "You're also blind as this information is available on every corner of this website."

      . Attempting to change your user name will result in an additional 24 hours to the existing ban"

      . "The party's over. This bot has 0 tolerance for stupidity."

      - This message was generated automatically by Spam Detector, C# 68

  2. Hello, The .ACC link appears to be down, could you please reup. Thanks!


Comments as "ANONYMOUS" are not accepted! This website uses an aggressive bot that combats Spam. Please keep the comments civilized. We do not accept requests.