August 18, 2019

Solitude Aeturnus - Downfall (2001 Reissue)

 *Reissued in 2001 by Crash Music with an altered album cover. Tracklist, track total and mastering remain unchanged. Contains 9 tracks total.
Country: U.S.A.
Genre: Doom Metal
Style: Epic Doom
.FLAC via Mega (Link)
.AAC 256 kbps via Mega (Link)

© 1996-2001 Crash Music
AllMusic Review by Brian O'Neill
Originally released in 1996 on Pavement Records, Downfall was reissued by Crash Music in 2002. Unfortunately, the reissue lacks many of the amenities that usually accompany such releases, so don't expect any bonus cuts or the like. The fourth album sees the Texas troupe experimenting a bit more from its doom metal origins, but not so much so as to alienate original fans. "Deathwish," a relatively bouncy track powered by a great riff, "Elysium," a three-minute spooky, effect-laden monologue of sorts, and "These Are the Nameless," a galloping, stomping power metal paean, are deviations from the slow, gothic style the group excels at. Downfall is the most complete album Solitude Aeturnus has made to date, even if purists might prefer the more straight-ahead, earlier Roadrunner material.

tags: solitude aeturnus, downfall, 1996, 2001, flac,